Get to Know Ashley Goldberg

NODia_AshleyG

Ashley Goldberg

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Current city: Portland, OR

Would you rather travel by plane, train, car or ship?

Car! I love a good road trip! The last long road trip I went on was down the coast of Oregon to California stopping along the way at antique and thrift stores. That really is my ideal kind of vacation!

You can find me eating __for breakfast.

Hmmmm…my actual breakfast varies day to day. My FAVORITE breakfast is french toast, but coffee, coffee, and coffee is always the most important part of my breakfast. The ritual of brewing it or going to get it turns my brain on. Few things make me happier than waking up to the smell of coffee.

On the weekends, you can find me__. 

On the  weekends you can find me going to estate sales, thrift stores, the park with my dog, out to brunch, or on a mini day trip to all the amazing places Oregon has to offer. Although, I never quite feel like I am doing enough on the weekends. i tend to be pretty relaxed with them (if they are not a working weekend, but there are plenty of those too!)

How many times do you usually hit the snooze button after your alarm goes off?

I have never ever used an alarm…even in high school. I HATE the sound of them so much, that before I would go to bed I would tell myself the time I needed to wake up (say 7 am) and I would usually wake up about 10 minutes before. Sometimes, it would just end in a restless night sleep, waking up every hour or so. NOW, I think I am out of practice enough that I would set an alarm to wake up at a specific time.

If you were a crayon, what color would you be?

Green! Green isn't even my most favorite color, but it is the color I most identify with. I "feel" green : )

Ashley g

Your dream vacation would be…

I have never left the US and I soooo want to visit Paris. After that I have a list a mile long, but that is the first place I would like to see.

Do you have a current celebrity crush?

My celebrity crush has stayed the same for over 10 years…Pharrell Williams. He's adorable and talented. Sold and sold.

Got any pets? Tell us about them.

I have two! I have a cat, Isadora. She is 12 years old, but still looks like a little kitten. My best friend dubbed her a "forever kitten" when I adopted her. Isadora has been my muse for a very long time. In fact, "The Party" the print I have at The Land of Nod is really a portrait of Isadora and me (And a few of her kitty friends!)

Lyle is my dog. I adopted him about 6 months ago and he is an adorable little faux fox. The shelter had no clue what combination of breeds he is, except that there is some corgi in there. He has a big head and little legs and most people think he is a puppy (I guess having baby looking animals is a trend with me). He is funny and adorable and is starting to make appearances in my work as well.

Tell us about your Nod Institute of Art print, how you made it or your inspiration behind it.

My print, The Party, is a pencil and ink drawing, based on a series of sketches I have in my sketch book of my cat Isadora and me. The first sketch I ever made was when my hair was in a messy bun and I felt extra frumpy and I look over at the arm of my chair where Isadora is sitting looking very prim and proper. The piece is titled "how does she always looks so pulled together?". I have a lot of little isadora and ashley doodles in the corner of my sketchbooks. And then I decided to actually create a few prints out of them. And I am delighted to see that people get a chuckle out of them and identify with them!

The-party

  • http://www.cupcakesandcutlery.com Sharon Garofalow

    I am in love with her artwork!! I was super excited by the canvas bag printed with “The Party” that I got at Alt Summit. It made me want to learn more about Land of Nod as a company. And I love what I found!

  • Katie @ Nod

    So glad to hear you’re a fan of her work. We had such a fantastic time at Alt, thanks for stopping by!